My lab results just came back...

TSH

4.54 (0.27 - 4.20) uIU/mL

T3, free

3.6 (2.0 - 4.4) pg/mL

T4, free

1.24 (0.93 - 1.70) ng/dL

My body temperature is at 96.9

What is the above result an indication of?

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hello Exclix

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987.

You have Hypothyroid as your TSH on the high end of the scale.  The low end is Hyper. So you are at 4.54 and that means not enough hormone in you. It  should be 1.0 to 3.0  reduce symptoms.  It takes replacement hormone to bring it down.

T3 Free is the amount of free Liothyronine (which is T3)  in your system.  This is the useable hormone in the body. Your level is okay as per your blood report above.

T4 free is the amount of thyroxine (called T4) in your system.  that is good per your blood.

Low body temp and normal is 98.6 F. Most thyroid people are low temp. It is a symptom.

So you have Hypothyroidism  are you on Sythroid or Levothyroxine?

Any questions just ask,

Shelly

• Posted

Thanks for your input Shelly!

For some reason I thought hypothyroidism is when fT3 is low. Learned something new, thanks!

So im hypo. Or as a quick Google search says... Subclinical hypothyroidism.

What's the next step? How to find out the cause?

I'm not on anything, never have been.

• Posted

Hello Exclix:

Hypothyroidism can come from a lot of reasons such as:  A virus called Mono or now called Epstein-Barr  and a lack of iodine in the diet, also a family trait or runs in a family line, abuse or stress placed on the body and other conditions like cancer or lupus or even treatments for cancer.

Subclinical means not enough symptoms but it is just a word.  Next step would be seeing an Endocrinologist and that doctor knows the thyroid well.  They can place you on a low dose of hormone and you will be okay. The medication ost commonly used is Levothyroxine.

Check with your GP for a referal, and any questions just ask.