Hip/pelvic pain

Posted , 14 users are following.

This discussion has been locked due to a period of inactivity.

Hello all, I've been having hip and lower back pain for the last 3 months, mostly on left side, but a little on the right too.  Now for about a week I've started also to get an aching pelvic pain very low down on the left side - not around the ovary, much lower, near the crease between my thigh and lower belly, as if it is on the side of my uterus. It's not severe, but is pretty much always there.  I can't find any obvious lump or swelling, but then I'm not sure if what I'm feeling is right or not, since I'm not an expert.

I've also been having quite a bit of lightheadedness, and joint pain in my elbows.  I am pretty sure that I've also started perimenopause, as around the same time as the hip pain started, I had a late period for the first time, usually I'm punctual every 4 weeks.  I've now had one at 7 weeks, then at 4 and now again at 6, last one was very light.  I know that perimenopause can cause all sorts of other symptoms, lightheadedness and joint pain included, and at first I put the hip pain down to that.  But the pelvic pain certainly doesn't seem right and since the hip and back pain is on the same side, I'm concerned it may be something else.  I'm 48 by the way.

This is complicated by the fact that I also have ulcerative colitis.  This is usually pretty well-controlled and I've largely been in remission recently, but again coinciding with all the above, I've had some (mostly mild) symptoms over the last 3 months.  However, the pelvic pain seems to be something different, it's not in the area where I usually expect to have it when I have colitis symtoms.