Hip Replacement

Posted , 5 users are following.

I had a hip replacement about 2 years ago. My left leg now is about 20cm longer than my righy leg. Is that a comman situation and is there anything legally I can do to take this dr to court for negligense?

My left knee is now busy packing up and I suffer a lot of pain.

4 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Correction it is not 20 cm but 2 cm differance.
    • Posted

I would arrange to get to see someone in the Physio Dept pronto as that does not sound too good. Yoir GP should refer you straight away if they realise what's happening to you..

Did you get decent Physio follow up after your op? If not then I would have a bit of a moan to the PALS Service even if it is 2 years on.

It may be as Susan says and something that is happening due to the 'difference' in the area around the replacement parts? However I'm not experienced with this in any way except to say get some expert advice ASAP.

Best of luck and keep us posted.

• Posted

Are you sure it's a real difference in leg length (bones on one side shorter than the other) and not just due to your pelvis being twisted out of position due to muscle imbalance? The latter most definitely can happen (with or without a hip replacement op) and is fixable.

If it's a real difference in length I'm not sure what the situation would be. My guess is you wouldn't have comeback but you could try phoning up one of those medical negligence solicitors for advice. It wouldn't cost you anything.

• Posted

Hi, It's true, the left leg is exactly 19.7 mm longer than the right leg after the hip replacement on the lleft side. My question is, what will be a acceptable difference, 5 mm to 10 mm?

• Posted

Do ask and then request advice on what to do with your footwear to compensate, if that is what they think could help.
    • Posted