Hip replacement ongoing nightmare

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi folks, I’m a newbie to this forum and would like to share my experience. It will be three years this July since I had my left hip replaced at The Royal Orthopaedic in Birmingham. The consultant who replaced my right hip (two years previous) agreed to replace my left as it was in a bad way. When I woke from the surgery I found out that his registrar had done the op. My consultant claimed he had opened the hip and closed it. After a few days the intense pain began and I felt there was something wrong. I knew from experience that I would need to let things settle down but this felt so different. When I finally had my post op appointment I was told it just needed to settle. Nearly three years on and airing constant concerns to the consultant, I finally was told after having an ultra sound scan I have to have a psoas release. The radiographer also wrote in the report that the cup appears to be overhanging. I’ve just had a ct scan and see my consultant on March 6th and I’m dreading it. I’ve been fobbed off so many times with “Oh it’s probably your back causing the problem” but now he can’t do that. I gather he’s one of a few consultants that can do the psoas lengthening but I’m wondering if I should get a second opinion. I’ve read on this forum of another person having a similar problem with the same consultant :-(

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Carolyn, it’s  been four and one half years of suffering for me from a right hip replacement in upper New York State. They crushed my femoral nerve. Based on what you were told about someone else having a significant role in your surgery, I will tell my attorney about this. I’ve always suspected he let residents play during my surgery since femoral nerve damage is so rare. I also had to have five transfusions. Thanks for your entry. All the best.
    • Posted

Dear Sissyr, I’m so sorry to hear about your ongoing problems and thank you for your reply.