His first PTSD episode with me, he goes to work but ghosting me. So confused...

Posted , 4 users are following.

I've been dating a really amazing guy the past few months. We have quite a few things in common and he's told me the biggest attractions for him were that we're both veterans and from the same country. Similar childhoods but there's an underlying, unspoken bond we've seemed to have developed along with the similarities. We've both been transparent about areas we struggle with. For me it's anxiety. His is PTSD. While I have some understanding about PTSD (I'm a health care professional) I've really tried to amp up my research on what its like. He's told me quite a bit about what happens when he's triggered but doesn't really have any specifics on what his triggers are. From all he's confided in me, I believe that his PTSD is tied to abandonment. He's faced so much alone. My heart breaks thinking about it at times.

Adding to this new relationship, we're also long distance.....for now. After my most recent visit to see him, things seemed better than ever. Although now it's been about 5 days since I've heard from him. Since we met about 4 months ago I've never gone a day without hearing his voice and with my anxiety....needless to say it's been a pretty s****y 5 days. He did let me know he can shut down for days once he's triggered but idk if this is what that is. My anxiety is totally different from what he may experience, that I know and from what he's confided in me, he's (in my mind) one of the most amazing humans I've ever met. I'm struggling with how to help him, calm my own madness and not drive him crazy during this possible detachment but I'm really lost and concerned for him.

Is this response normal? Could me being so far at the present be a trigger? Totally lost like I stated but I genuinely wanna be here for him and help if at all possible.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted