Hoping to chart my progress here.

Posted , 12 users are following.

I have been heavily drinking for 4 years (20 units at the highest point but managed to get down to 14). I had made various attempts to taper off last year which failed. However, last October I did taper off. After that I was alcohol free for a couple of months. Then it began to creep up again but I knew how hard a taper was so I never drank more than 2 days in a row. The drinking amounts then began to creep back up again.

For the last 3 weeks it has gone back up to every day again. I have a lot of experience now through failed attempts as well as my successful attempt at the end of last year. I am hoping to use that knowledge and experience to now make another attempt which avoids the things I did wrong.

The plan is to fix the issues that brought me to this point but before that the alcohol needs to go. Although I would guess I am not addicted to alcohol, in order to avoid any anxiety I have decided a very short taper beginning today. From the 14 units I have been consuming I intend to drop to around 7 tonight, 4 tomorrow night and 2 on Tuesday night and then stop.

Last year I posted on here and struggled with the courage to updated after my first post and deleted my account. This time I would like to update regularly, if not for anything else, to just keep track.

0 likes, 36 replies

36 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

It began as a few beers at home last Friday which was fine as I didn't drink too much. But I repeated again on Saturday and then again on Sunday. Sunday was where I ended up drinking too much.

Since then it has been 12-14 units innthe evening. I haven't tried stopping yet because I was mentally drained from the previous 2 week effort. I'm going to have to have a re-think soon on what to do

• Posted