How do I break the cycle?

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi, all,

I know this question has probably been asked over and over again, but I just have to ask, perhaps for want of a fresh perspective. For the past three weeks I have been waking up around 4 or 5 no matter when I go to sleep. I have no problem falling asleep at night, probably due to exhaustion, but when I wake up in the dead of night or very early morning I can only fall back to sleep with Valium, 5 mg.

I've been using Valium ocassionaly for about 2 years now, but it was in a pattern of every now and then, as needed, and sometimes not a single pill for weeks. Then, when Valium put my sleep back on track , I wouldn't need it until the next time my sleep got a little funky.

Now , for the last three weeks I have to use it every night if I want to get enough sleep. Every night I wake up at that time, no matter what, workday,weekend...

Why does my brain now constantly wake in this ungodly hour? I know how the inner clock can get used to that after a few nights, but how do you break that cycle?

I don't nap, I drink only 1 cup of coffee in the morning, I use ear plugs to try to stop the noise from outside, the room is dark... all that usual stuff.

Anyway, thanks for reading,if you have any tips please share.

Edgar

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

You don't say how old your are.  If in the 70s (as I am), early awakening is not unusual.  I would hesitate about taking any sleeping pill or valium at that hour of the morning as I feel it will make you drowsy mid morning until the stuff wears off

Why not get up at 05.00 and get some early morning exercise; I do, and go swimming

• Posted

Thank you for the reply.

I'm 30. I've had intermittent trouble sleeping since my teens, but never as persistently as this.

I have two reasons not to get up when this happens. First, I don't want to upset my wife's sleep, let at least one of us sleep well.