How do I stop drinking?

Posted , 8 users are following.

This is hard, in my heart I know I'm drinking far to much but in my head I can't see the problem, I've been drinking in excess for probably over 20 years, its caused me lots of problems, but still I carry on, I know its only a matter of time before it catches up with me but the thought of getting home and not having a beer is scarrey, sounds so stupid to put it down but I'm stuck into this belief I workhard I deserve a drink, I know that's selfish and I don't want to but I can't get out of it

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

My husband is retired now, and all his past years of heavy drinking has finally caught up with him-he had 2 strokes, (directly linked to alcohol) his liver is a mess, and the worst part (which you dont think of when you are a younger drinker "deserving your after work drink" -  he has developed Alcoholic Dementia, and the neurologist told him he has damaged his neurons, and  has basicaly given HIMSELF demenial !!!
    • Posted

This is where I know I'm being selfish, I don't want my wife in the position you are, its just like I want to get out of this but don't know how
  • Posted

You have taken the first step in the right direction, admitting you know there's a problem and need help! And it IS out there, my husband doesnt seem to think there's anything wrong,even though he has hallucinations, has fallen down so many times and recently broke his ankle, was in plaster, and was sober for 6 weeks, because he couldnt go and buy his vodka!! Please think years ahead, you will end up a wreck, (my grandchildren are forbidden to go in the car with him, he's been done twice for drunk driving) and no sleepovers with us, (after 14yr old got up at 9am, and saw him swigging out of a vodka bottle!!) Get a grip NOW, control your drinking, and perhaps you might be able to turn your life around.
    • Posted