How interested would you be in a non-invasive blood glucose monitor?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi,

I am a fourteen year old with type 1 diabetes and am currently doing a project on non-invasive blood glucose monitoring. As part of my project I am looking in to how useful a monitor like this would be and would really apprecaite your input. Would it make a big difference to your life? Should more time be put in to research? I would be very grateful for any contribution.

Thank you so much, Rebecca

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hello

I'm a eighteen yr old student studying at Loughborough Uni, and I'm also interested in invasive blood glucose monitoring. I think it would be really useful for people particular children and teens.

Have you read about the non invasive wrist watch from 2000 (I think), it was developed by a student at Uni. Really great idea and technology was so advanced but she had some problems with health effects like rashes and some other issues. But it wasn't completely implemented.

Hope this helps in some way

Will

• Posted

I would like a continuous blood glucose monitor because I have lost just about all of the warning signs of a hypo. Sometimes I get as low as 2.5 and feel perfectly OK and yet someone else could be flat out on the floor at just under 4. I heard about a thing called a GlucoWatch a few years ago but it wasn't a success and anyway it wasn't as simple as it sounded as you still had to do fingerprick tests so what was the point of it? If I could just strap on a monitor like a watch without having to have anything inserted under my skin for about a week at a time then that would be great but it looks like regular fingerprick tets will still have to be done for several years yet.
  • Posted