How long does it take for amphytripiline to take effect.

Posted , 5 users are following.

My mum, who is turning blind and has very little vision left has just been put on this drug for anxiety. She becomes very anxious if she is left alone, cries, and has panic attacks . She said the vision which she has left has become blurry and she can't cope. She has no get up and go in her and can't see the light at the end of the tunnel. She's been on these tablets 7 days , should they have started working yet

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

You haven't wrote how old your mum is poor lady I can only imagine how scary that must feel I'm no doctor

But I'm sure the tablets won't start working quite so soon I just feel she needs reassurance and to know that you are always there for her.Stay strong for your mum and I'm sure you will get through this tough time soon

• Posted

Sorry, my mum is 67. A very timid lady , totally not the person we are seeing at the moment. She is very demanding and although we are as a family supporting her as much as we can she doesn't seem to want to listen or is just so depressed she can't comprehend what we are saying to her
  • Posted

Bless her doesn't seem old enough to be going through all this and I can sense that you are not coping very

Well I feel sorry for you all I lost my mum to alcohol about 5years ago and I tried so hard to support her so I

do understand how difficult it is but the tablets your mum has been prescribed will work as long as she keeps taking them so bear with her but remember to look after her you really need to keep looking after yourself xx

• Posted

Thanks, I suffer from a rare life threatening disease and get very tired, I'm on regular treatment and also have our own business and a 6 year old son. Although I'm there at the drop,of a hat for her I feel helpless for her and for my dad who is obviously with her more than I can be. I'm sure in a couple of weeks she may see some light and feel,better.