How long till you went back to work?????

Posted , 10 users are following.

I am 5 weeks post op now. I work in a hospital 12 hour shifts on my feet mostly. I am just wondering how long it actually has taken everyone to get back to work and life that is normal! I know everyone heals different but I constantly find myself googling How long for this ...How long for that with my knee. I just wish I knew when this knee would be functionable again to where I can live my fun life again!

Thanks!

Melissa

0 likes, 22 replies

Report / Delete

22 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Typically...

Your ROM work is done in the first three months while you get off the heavy-duty pain killers. Most have their 0 / +120 ROM back by 12 weeks. Takes a lot of work at PT and home. Then you have to start rebuilding your dead/atrophied muscles...quads, glutes and core. This gets you off any remaining appliances plus lets you walk normally, regain your balance and starts giving you the strength to do stairs. This is usually done in the 3-9 month period.

Going back to work depends on a lot of factors and the muscle rebuild is one of them because it takes the pressure off the knee and puts it back on the supporting muscles where it belongs. Returning to work in 3 months is usually unsuccessful because of the muscle issues...not enough time for the knee to heal and the muscles to get strong again. Most are back to work in the 4-6 month range depending on the above factors plus type of job, hours on your feet, age, general health, etc.

A nurse "running the halls" for 12 hours? You need to do some serious muscle work to be able to handle that in the 4-6 month range. If you're not ready, there will likely be pain, swelling, and more. Gotta avoid that by getting strong ASAP.