How long until therapeutic effect?

Posted , 4 users are following.

How many weeks did it take you to get a big relief in anxiety? Im on my 19th day on 10mg and still have anxiety. I have generalized anxiety disorder.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi johannes, i'm on my 21st day after coming off bromazapam and starting escitalopram and the last two days have just started to feel a lot better, a lot of physical symptoms are easing off, not so many aches and pains, breathlessness a lot better and not so many negative thoughts, stay with it i'm sure you will feel better soon.

• Posted

Perhaps the Lexapro is not for you. I have tried many antidepressants, and luckily Lexapro, which was my first choice, and the medicine I am currently on, has been the most effective. However, I am not 100% sure that this is the best medication for anxiety. I could be wrong, I am not a doctor, just going by my personal experiences, but I feel like there are other medications which target anxiety more directly. I started out with 10 mg of Lexapro and within three days felt a big change in my overall well-being. I am currently on 5 mg and feeling well, but again, I did not have anxiety specifically. I hope this helps.

One last thing, I believe 10 mg is only the introductory dogs, I believe people with severe anxiety and depression are recommended 20 mg, perhaps maybe that is the problem. Or, maybe Lexapro by itself is not enough. I do take Welbutrin (forgive my spelling and grammar errors as I am using text to speech).

• Posted

I've personally heard that lexapro is one of the best medications for anxiety which is why i started it. Gonna give it 6 weeks atleast, thanks for your response.

• Posted

What medications are you referring to that target anxiety more directly except from benzos?

• Posted