How safe is a colonoscopy?

Posted , 13 users are following.

I've heard so many conflicting things about a colonoscopy and i'm not sure what to think of it. 

1 like, 25 replies

25 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

a colonoscopy can be a life saving procedure, and have become very routine and safe. Do your research on a proper doctor beforehand! Get someone who specializes in colonoscopies and gastroenterology
  • Posted

You can probably rationalize any medical decision you make if you search the internet enough. One study that caught my eye was -

Over 10 years, 2 lives were saved out of 1,000 participants by screening.

Out of 1,000 participants, 5 ended up with serious complications due to the colonoscopy.

Also there are alternative screening tests ranging from virtual colonoscopy to home tests like Cologuard.

I'm not a doctor.

• Posted

Hi....i would take that study with "a pinch of  salt"....when i had my last colonoscopy the senior consultant said the risk of complication (i.e. perforation) was ONE IN 8,000...!. Also a virtual colonoscopy using a ct scanner would only pick up masses of approx pea size and above...where as a colonoscopy would potentially detest much smaller masses i.e. polyps much  smaller ..say grain of rice size that a ct would miss. At the end of the day the advantages  of a colonoscopy vastly outweigh the disadvantages...regards

• Posted

Actually... average is closer to one in 1000.

• Posted

I think the Cologuard test is a big SCAM... I took one, results came back positive... so I contacted Cologuard and asked that they send me the DETAILED results... two tests, two samples... one to test for blood in stool, one for DNA... they say 11 Biomarkers tested... so... send me the SPECIFICS of the results... they refused.