How to cope with partner depression/anxiety

Posted , 3 users are following.

My partner has been struggling with his mood for almost a year now. It started as anxiety then manifested into depression and a fear of dying. It's now since just moved onto frustration. It was hard to see this once strong, funny loving individual crumble right in front of my eyes. We've been been together for 8years and never once had I seen him cry- until now.

I work as a mental therapist so I managed to get him support with CBT which appeared to help but I know feel that the guy I fell in love with has now changed- in a way he's turned into a stranger.

The feelings I once had for him seem to be wavering and our closeness seems to be drifting further and further away. As a mental health professional I'm used to giving advise but I have never experienced anxiety/depression so close to home before and I'm finding it hard to manage. I'm unsure whether these are normal feelings to have when relationship dynamics change and I'm unsure if it takes time to return to normal- any advice would be appreciated.

It's been a rough time for us both and we have spoken about our feelings which i know is a step in the right direction but would love to hear other people experiences of this and what helped you.

Thank you x

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi, I am so sorry to hear of your problems, and I sincerely hope you can work these out. I can relate to your issue, but more from your partner's side, as I too have been depressed for the past 6 months and have only recently returned to work, though still finding things tough. I do not know if my depression has been caused by losing feelings for my girlfriend (which has made me sick with guilt and self loathing), or if it is the depression playing tricks on me. I am glad though you have both spoken about it, and I really do hope we both have a successful outcome.
    • Posted