How to recover?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi smile

I’ve never done anything like this before and spoken out about my eating disorder.

I have had bulimia for 6 years now and managed to live these years with my eating disorder seemingly unnoticed by everyone (apart from my husband obviously, and a couple of friends)

But it is just now I’m staring to have complications; I keep being admitted into hospital with extremely low potassium and my heart is starting to play up.

I’m actually currently in hospital now, for the 3rd time in 3 months, and I’m feeling so low.

I can’t do this anymore. I’m only 27, I don’t want to be spending my life in and out of hospital.

I’m missing out on so much... I’m making myself and the ones I love miserable.

I had a meeting with a hospital psychiatrist today and we had a long chat about support groups etc.

I thought I would give it a try as it would be really nice to chat to people who understand what I’m going through and have experienced it themselves.

My husband tries to be supportive but he just doesn’t get it.

Does anyone have any tips or advice on the best way to start recovery? 

I’ve read a lot about structured eating plans. 

What kind of foods are best to eat at the beginning of recovery? 

Thanks. 

Lucy xxx 

1 like, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

Hi Lucy,

I am so pleased to hear you have decided to make a change. I suffered from anorexia for 11 years and I now have osteoporosis as a result and I am only 30. 

I do not recommend getting better in an inpatient setting - they focus on feeding and weight gain rather than addressing the underlying issues that are causing the behaviour. 

Try and put a finger on where it all started and what made you begin to use it as a coping mechanism. Usually addressing painful emotions that cause you to do it will help resolve the problem and lead you to learn better/healthier coping mechanisms.