HRT PATCH ALLERGY?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi everyone

I have been using Fem 7 conti patches for 5 months.  For the last month I have had bad itching, lumpy skin, redness & bruising all around the area. Has anyone changed methods, i.e. gels, creams tablets?  I need something with least side effects as possible!  Any advice would be great! 

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

I get an itchy rash where the patch is applied too.  It is the glue they use, but I also have a reaction to any bandaid, stick on tape, etc.

The bruising is very strange.  A bruise is another name for A hematoma which is a localized collection of blood outside the blood vessels, due to either disease or trauma including injury or surgery, or simply an injection or blood draw and may involve blood continuing to seep from broken capillaries.  Perhaps what you are seeing is inflammation.

Talk to your dr about it for a change to another patch.  However, if you have sensitive skin, then they will all affect you in this way.

• Posted

Hi Sheryl

thanks so much for replying.  I am not normally allergic to tape, latex etc so not sure.  To be honest it is the bruising that is bothering me but that may be to the scratching!  Am going to see my GP I think for an opinion x

• Posted

Hi. Do you alternate sides when you apply the patch and try to apply on a different patch of skin? 

I use a sensitive skin eye makeup remover to remove the sticky residue after removing the patch. Or a baby oil works.  Maybe worth trying? 

• Posted

Hi Maisie  thank you for replying.  Yes I change the site regularly.  In fact sometimes twice a week as the patches keep falling off!   Will give the baby oil a go when removing.  thanks for the tip 
    • Posted

I just realised your patches must be 7 day patches.  If so, ask your dr to change to 2 smaller patches a week, same strength, then you don't have to keep them on for 7 days, but only 3.5 days.

I had to change too.

• Posted