Hypermobility and choice of shoes?!

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi, I am a 23 year old female and just been diagnosed with JHS and mild scoliosis. At my last hospital appointment I was told I need to change my footwear and buy 'proper' walking shoes that support my feet. I experience a lot of knee pain and currently have fluid all around my knee. I tore my meniscus last year and have had trouble ever since. I work as a manager in an office full time and not keen on the idea of these walking shoes as many of them are ugly! Anyone else had this issue? And where do I go from here? Are new shoes actually going to help me or is my condition more serious than this?

Thanks

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

The way I understand it, your muscles have to work harder to support you. In your feet, they also have to support your weight. Using supporting shoes will help take some of the pressure off your feet and knees. They will also help your knees stay better aligned. I can definitely feel the difference if I wear flip flops now. Whether or not you find shoes attractive is a subjective thing. I switched over to Keen's and Dansko. I like "The Walking Company" for nice, well fit, and supportive shoes that aren't ugly.

• Posted

I've found that any shoes which support my arch help to ease knee pain. They can be harder to find than others but they are out there smile

• Posted

It's hard to find the right shoe because every foot is different. Personally, I like Sauconys. They support my feet nicely and so do some Nikes. Really any running shoe should be good. If you're flat footed like I am (and flat feet can be caused by hypermobility) then you may consider using orthotics. My physical therapist said that using orthotics to help with my flat feet will end up supporting both my knees and ankles because they promote better alignment. If that's not the case with you, then alright, but if you are flat footed, then I hope this advice helps smile

• Posted