Hypertension

Posted , 3 users are following.

I am a long time BP patient. My BP has been under control by using a tablet Felogard/Plendil 5 mg twice a day. But that drug is not currently available in the market. Can you suggest an alternative to that drug.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

I looked it up. It's a calcium channel blocker, generic name felopidine. I believe the nearest alternative is amlopidine, though I'm no expert.

Which brings me to the question: why are you posting on a public forum and not asking your doctor? Surely whoever prescribed the felopidine will be best placed to prescribe a suitable alternative?

I see you're new on here, so you may not have realised that this isn't a medical advice site, it's a forum in which patients can share their experiences and provide mutual support. I'd strongly urge you to ask a doctor about this.

• Posted

sorry for the typo. I mean to say amlodipine.
    • Posted

I am located in Mumbai India. In India the Felogard (generic Felodipine) tablet is manufactued by CIPLA, but they have stopped production a few months back for reasons best known to them! You are right, the tablet amolodipine seems to be the nearest alternative. But I have tried amlodipine 5 mgs but with not much effect on my BP. But when I take a single dose of  felogard 5 mg (I have a few left with me) it brings down the BP dramatically to 120/70 from 180/95 within an hour. I ahve tried with an increased dose of 10 mg of amlodipine but with not much success. What is it that makes Felodipine work but not amlodipine? I have consulted a few doctors but no answer! explanation.
  • Posted

I am on felodipine (plendil) in Britian, this is a British based forum, it may help to state your country if different.

An alternative to that is amlodipine.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!