Hyperthyroid and hoarse voice

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi all.I've been hyperthyroid for three years and am on 20 carbimazole and 160 slow release propranolol.I am very interested to hear from anyone who suffers from hoarse voice when talking for a while and what you have done to alleviate it.Best wishes Nonita

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Interesting post... I just had a thyroidectomy four weeks ago and my voice is quite hoarse post surgery. I'm slowly regaining the strength and quality now. However, before my surgery I was on methimazole 15 mg daily and my voice was somewhat hoarse. I attributed it to the fact that I work as a teacher and lecture all day long.

• Posted

I hope you are recovering well from the op.Were you offered the surgery because the tablets didn't work?Were you offered RAI which I have refused.I am wondering if the thyroid is pressing on the vocal chords causing the hoarseness.Maybe that was your problem all along in which case the thyroidectomy should eventually solve the problem.I would prefer to opt for the surgery.Was it a very difficult process.Thank you for replying .Best wishes for the future.Nonita

• Posted

I couldn't do RAI because I also have thyroid eye disease and research shows that RAI worsens thyroid eye disease because it doesn't kill the thyroid right away, so in the interim you have a surge of thyroid hormone which can worse the eyes. Hence, my decision to have surgery. Recovery wasn't a walk in the park for me, but everyone is different. My co-worker had a thyroidectomy and it was a breeze for her.

• Posted