Hyperthyroidism and weight GAIN

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi all, I am new to this but thought it might be helpful to ask some questions people who are going through the same.. I was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism a couple days ago. I have a bunch of nodules and I was put on tapazole (15mg a day).

I understand the most common symptom of hyperthyroidism is weight loss, however, I gained weight. So my question is, does that mean that being on tapazole will make me lose weight especially since my body has been reacting to the disease the opposite of the expected way?

Any suggestions on how to control weight gaining while taking tapazole? 

Thank you so much!   

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hi DMetev, studies show that on average hyperthyroid patients gain weight during treatment with antithyroid drugs. Antithyroid drugs are meant to reduce your thyroid level and thus your metabolic rate. 

I have Graves' disease and had a relapse once. During both periods I gained some weight while taking antithyroid drugs. 

It is true that many hyperthyroid patients lose weight prior to treatment but that only happens if the calorie intake was not substantial enough to compensate for the exaggerated basal metabolic rate. On the other hand, many hyperthyroid patients lose a substantial amount of lean body mass due to protein catabolism. In my case, this led to severe muscle pain and weakness. 

My advice would be to expect some weight gain during treatment with antithyroid drugs and modify your food intake accordingly. I would suggest increasing your intake of vegetables a lot (especially those in the goitrogenic family) and also your intake of proteins while slightly reducing your intake of carbohydrates.