Hypertonic sodium

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone. Just got back from the hospital, and have been put on hypertonic sodium. They did a test on me first and everything went well. Want to know if any one else on here has tried it? And if so how did they get on ? 

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Jackie. I was wondering if this is done through a nebulizer? Also, what type of test did they have to do? I was given some type of saline solution to nebulize but I am nervous about trying it.

Thank you, Debi

• Posted

Hi Jackie

I have been using this for a couple of years now without any issues.

Best wishes

• Posted

Hi debi , yes this is done through a nebulizer . They monitor your sats and heart rate while you are inhaling the Hypertonic sodium . Sometimes it can restrict your breathing but mine was fine . The saline solution isn't the same one as Hypertonic sodium this is much higher in sodium . The saline is perfectly safe and is a gentle solution . Thanks for your reply 
  • Posted

Jackie,

I have been using Sodium Chloride for several years.  I use it with a nebulizer.

It's to thin the mucus.  I have found out that if I use it more than once or twice a day, it makes the mucus too thin and I can't couch it up, it just rattles in my lungs, so I monitor how often I use it daily.

Elizabeth

• Posted

Hi Jackie

Yes lots of people with ncfbronchiectasis use hyspertonic saline, including myself and it certainly does help to get up the gunk.  It comes in 3 strengths 3%, 6% and 7%.  I use 7% unless my asthma is playing up, then I would use the lower strengths or isotonic 0l9%

Good luck.

cx

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!