Hypo and on 50mg Thyroxine and jittery/shaky

Posted , 6 users are following.

I have been on 50mg of Eurostig/Thyroxine for the past 2 yrs.

I also suffer from anxiety.

Lately I have been feeling especially anxious with some episodes of racing heart, racing thoughts, feelings of doom etc. It has made me feel like I am going crazy and losing control on occasions. I even presented at the ER a few weeks ago because I wanted to get my heart checked.

Thank god I work from home and have the option to limit my time out and about because if I had to travel and work every day I'm not sure I could.

My hands are shaky too.

I have having bloodwork done on Thursday this week and I'm sure this is thyrpoid related. GP tells me my thyroid is "fine" but I know they say this a lot. Don't have my numbers but this time I will be asking for them.

Can anyone relate? 

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Hello Jenjen:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's Thyroid disease since 1987.

In some of us the medication can build up and give you Hyper symptoms which are:  Shaking, nervousness, hard time sleeping, feeling HOT or sweating a lot. Also palpitations of the heart.

You can do a few things:

1- Give yourself a drug holiday and skip one day a week and let your level calm down.

2- Take half a dose 2 times a week. (So a 25mcg dose)

3- Change off of this med, and go onto a NDT (natural dessicated thyroid). These meds are made from a pig's thyroid, some are, Armour Thyroid, Nature's thyroid, Thyroid S.

All meds have a half life and after being on hormones (they may be a small pill but they pack a punch), you could see the level in your blood be too high.

You should ask for some blood work, such as T3 level and T4 level and TSH and Reverse T3, also your minerals such as, Potassium, calcium, magnesium, ferritin, iron, sodium.   Get a copy and then post what the blood work says. We can see if you have too much in your blood stream.