Hypothyroid medication change?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all, I am very new to this diagnosis however suspect it was going on much longer than I realized. I would have "down" week/months and would go to the doctor, have bloods done, only to be told I was fine. This happened 2/3 times, fast forward to 6 months ago and FINALLY a doctor mention I had 'subclinical hypothyroid" but in fact when she looked back at all my other results, everytime I got a blood test it had showed this but no other doctor had mentioned it?

Anyway she decided to treat me on a really small dose of thyroxine (25mg) and I've been on this for about 4 months now. I had a follow up blood test 6 weeks after starting and they said my levels were at normal again and to continue that dose. I have been feeling really good since starting it and energy levels have increased. However, the last two weeks I have been a wreck and feeling all the symptoms I use to have before starting- I guess my question is today - has anyone found they initially were good on the medicated dose but then had to up it at a later date? I am not meant to go for another review for a bit but not sure if I should go and chat to them about how I am feeling?

THank you in advance for any of your advice. 

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Lucinda.. I also have sub clinical hypo..for 15 months. was fine on 25mg for roughly 6 months then like you started feeling rough again. Went back to docs.. more bloods .. long story short. Am now on 50mg levo and feel great.. this will keep happening apparently.. so definitely go and see your doctor that's what they are there for. Keep us posted

• Posted

Thank you so much Beverley- I will go back to the doctors to get it look at again smile will let you know the outcome xx
  • Posted

Hi Lucinda, yup, totally. Everything you’re dealing with is very typical.