hypothyroid, possible hashi, worse on levo

Posted , 2 users are following.

Unsure how I can proceed. My dr is currently waiting on my endo appt beginning of May. I'm on sick leave since January. I started on levo and have upped dosage to 50mcg in the last month. Dr says it takes time for the system to adjust. New symptoms: insomnia, depression, shaky, sweats, palpatations. Dr says since I've no nodules I do not have hashi even though my blood test says 360 antibodies.

What to ask my endo?

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hello Mary:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987.

Hashi's is autoimmune and can run in families and also come from a nasty Virus called Epstein-Barr (EBV) or MONO.  EBV lays dormant and then is triggered later in some people.

Antibodies higher than 10 indicates Hashi's and it is a form of Hypothyroidism. It hits women more then men. 9 women to every 1 man.

Hashi's can make LEVO hard to work.  I had trouble with it.  I was on Armour thyroid a natural thyroid med. for a long time.

Levo is a synthetic med.  It must convert in the gland to T3 and some of us have trouble with that.  Most people are on 75mcg to 125mcg of Levo.  Low doses of 25mcg to 50mcg are starter doses to get your body used to it and not to shock your body with a big dose.  the body can take 6 to 12 weeks to make a proper blood level.  Then in about 2 to 3 months they do more blood and see how you are doing.  take  levoon an empty stomach and wait 1 hour before food.  Food blocks Levo from working.

You should be on a multivitamin with Iron as Ferritin is needed to make Levo work well.  Ferritin is a component of Iron.

Someof us with Hashi's can swing between Hyper and Hypo and it sounds like you have some swings going on.  As the body gets a level it will get better. In time the bad symptoms will fade.

Any questions just ask,

Shelly

• Posted