Hypothyroidism and diet

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi everyone, 

I am a 22 year old female, I was diagnosed with an underactive thyroid a year ago and just trying to learn how to manage it and keep my levels right. I was just wondering if there is anything i can do regarding my diet that can help me lose weight, keep my levels normal or even improve my levels?

I have heard lots about gluten?

Any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance 

Danielle 

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Gluten contains a protein that can attack the thyroid so.......

Lots of people with gluten intolerance have thyroid issues and joint pain. There is a condition called the gluten syndrome.

Many people with a g intolerance also have corn, yeast, wheat ,soya, aspartame intolerances as well.

Hope this helps.

• Posted

Hi Lucy,

Thanks for taking the time to reply that has helped! X

• Posted

Hello Danielle:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987.

Gluten is a binder in food, it can cause autoimmune thyroid conditions to act or flare up.  It is also a major cause of Celiacs Disease.

Today you can buy many items not made of gluten. Gluten is in pasta and breads, and sweets like cakes and rolls and cinnamon buns, pizza etc...any dough items.

It is best to avoid it and avoid high fats also.

Ready made foods are full of gluten and sodium.  So are fast foods and junk foods. Avoid all of these and soda.

Eat lean meats, Fish like salmom is good, any fish except fried is good and chicken is good.  Eat veggies but CORN can have gluten so avoid that. Do what you can to eat healthy.

I lost 32 pounds walking and eating healthy.  Walk around your neighborhood for 30 mins. Start slow and walk a small amount at first then up it until you get to 30 mins. or longer. We need some exercise and walking is good for the body and lungs.  No running just walking!