Hypothyroidism and Gluten

Posted , 5 users are following.

After years of symptoms I was diagnosed with Hashimotos (autoimmune reason for hypothyroidism or something). I have just started taking levothyroxine for this. 

I read online something about gluten adding to the damage. I was wondering if anyone felt cutting gluten was beneficial. I think I might have an intolerance anyway, as for years I've had unexplainable stomach problems, which the doctors eventually diagnosed as IBS as they didn't know any better.

Also, I have pernicious anaemia (another autoimmune disease- yay!). When I found out about the hypothyroidism I sighed as it was just another thing to add to the list, but the GP somewhat loosely said something about it all being linked? Has anyone else experienced this?

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hello Emdis:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse (RN) in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's since 1987.

Yes, I cut out gluten.  It helps a lot.  Now we know what it does to our bodies and how hard it is on us with autoimmune problems. You can buy items without gluten today in most major markets or health food stores.  It is a glue like substance made to bind food and it bothers the bowels and joints.

Pernicious Anemia is a low B-12 level.  Years ago they did  B-12 injections but they do have oral tablets today that can help.  I had it also.  Low B-12 makes you have low energy and fatigue.   It is linked to Hypothyroidism. 

Autoimmune means our immune systems are under attack, and we can have more medical problems than a person with just regular Hypo.  I take a good multi-vitamin with iron and Vit D because we do not make it from sunlight as well after age 30 or so.

Always take your LEVO without food, food will block it from receptor sites in the bowel.  Wait about 4 hours before taking any vitamins. Spacing is important.

I hope this helps, any questions just ask.

Shelly

• Posted

Hi