I am a 36 year old women who has suffered since 14. Ther...

Posted , 2 users are following.

I am a 36 year old women who has suffered since 14. There have been times when the disease has been in remission over the years. However now I have a recurrent abscess in the groin which has been weeping for the past 2 years. I also suffer with recurrent abscesses in my armpits. Forrunately they are confined to these sites. I am depressed and feel I have no quality of life. When will someone find a cure?

[i:4c8b92f0de]This message was automatically imported from the original Patient Experience[/i:4c8b92f0de]

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi there,

I am from Australia and also have Hidradenitis Suppurativa.

Allied with concerned patients, community members and medical professionals, this recently created charitable organization provides further public health information, and plans to find out more about this disease:

The Hidradenitis Suppurativa Foundation, Inc. (HSF) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity incorporated in the State of California on July 26, 2005. The HSF was founded for the sole purpose of funding efforts to dissect the molecular and cellular causes of Hidradenitis Suppurativa (HS, also known as Acne Inversa) to aid in the development and delivery of more effective therapy to patients with this common, debilitating, and eminently chronic disease that affects an estimated 1% of the population.

My personal advice to those with HS is to seek medical treatment without delay. Depression and axiety are common to this disease, so please talk this over with your doctor.

Take very good care,

Robert Howes

Hidradenitis Suppurativa Foundation, Inc.

[i:9bcd56cc41]This message was automatically imported from the original Patient Experience[/i:9bcd56cc41]

• Posted

I know what its like to suffer with this about 8 years ago I had an operation to remove the sweat glands in my both armpits but still get the hidradenitis in other areas.