I am a 44 year old nurse,who has just been diagnosed wit...

Posted , 3 users are following.

I am a 44 year old nurse,who has just been diagnosed with osteoarthritis.I have been told i can no longer do my job,and been off work now for 9 months.I have it in my wrist,knees and right hip.At the moment i feel very angry,that my career has gone,and that im sat home all day doing not alot due to the pain that i have.Has anyone else lost their career's at such a young age?.What do you do?. Do support groups really help?. Being a nurse i know how waiting list work, and don,t expect my surgery date to be this side of the year.Not one person in my family suffer so in my case it's not hereditary, but i do wonder whether years of nursing has put a big strain on my joints,and have in some way caused this.Would like to hear comments from other suffer,s in my line of work, as to whether they think theirs is through years of bending and lifting.

[i:beb3874992]This message was automatically imported from the original Patient Experience[/i:beb3874992]

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

I am convinced OA is related to repetitive movements, particularly as there is a variation in joints affected by different professions, such as yours. I have just been diagnosed with OA, although I had suspected it for some time but was told by my GP it was probably tendonitis on several occasions, only after seeing another doctor, was I given the opportunity of an xray, which revealed the results within a few days.