I am afraid of having rabies

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi, I am an 18 year old student. I am in the middle of my school leaving exams.  About 2 weeks ago, our dog (he is vaccinated from rabies, 6 months old) had gone through Parvovirus, although he is fine now. At that time I have looked through a lot of different possibilities for his condition (at that time we didn't know it yet). And being me, I stopped at rabies. I went trough the trouble of looking at all the sympoms for dogs and humans.

After he got a little better, I was watching our dog closely for any weird rabies-like behaviour. It was at that time he bit me (didn't pierce the skin).

A week ago, I had my first 'panic attack', as I started having nausea and extensive salivation (which are the symptoms of rabies).

?I calmed down, tried to think rationally about the situation, and It seemed logical to me that I was just nervous about the upcoming exam. I also started having dizziness and a feel as if something is not right.

?A few days later, I started feeling sore in my throat, and it almost felt as if I had trouble swalowing my saliva (guess what that is - one of the rabies symptoms). Although at that point in time, my mouth was dry as a desert. I also had a blocked nose and I hoped that it was the cause for this. At that point my 2nd panic started. Could'nt think of anything other than rabies. Again, I calmed down.

?Today I stared feeling a lump in my throat, and felt discomfort in my jaw, felt as it I was keeping in lower than usual (again, one of the rabies symptoms, what a surprise). I was going mental. Now, (after 2 hours or so) my jaw is feeling fine now, but I have almost constant dizziness and a lump in my throat, as well as low appetite, nausea and salivation when I do eat too much.

?I cannot concentrate when preparing for the exams (because of the panic and fear), I get even more nervous when I am not doing so. HELP

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted