I am feeling worse with lots of side effects on fluoxetine

Posted , 7 users are following.

can anyone offer any advice, I have been taking fluoxetine for 24 days, have experienced lots of side effects, worse one not being able to sleep or eat, thinking of stopping them, or should I continue, as ive seen on these posts it takes a while to work? feeling very down, husband dosnt agree that I should be taking meds and sort my head out.....

1 like, 18 replies

18 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hello Mandy I am a long-time veteran of Prozac (fluoxetine) who has bern off of it for more than 6 months due to it just not helping anymore. My psychiatrist yesterday urged me to start back on it as I had asked for Lexapro and he vehemently refused to put me on it saying that "..it is a much older medication and since I'm bipolar and wasnt able to tolerate any of the mood stabilizers .. there would be no value in putting me on Lexapro since my "diagnosis" is bipolar." I took one this morning and I feel irritable like I did when I stopped it before. For the pasr 6 months I had been taking the nutrient l-Theanine and I wasnt feeling as darkly depressed, but still very down. My medical doctor told me that NO medication was going to help if i didnt seek counseling and find a way to be happier. However, after decades of counseling AND medication, I'm still very sad much of the time. This may be too much info, but during some very manic years beginning in 1999, I cheated on my husband who wasnt invested in me or our marriage, and everything blew up in my life (i know what did i expect but my mania was in charge). After getting off of Effexor XR, the mania disappeared and the depression descended upon me and has never left again. I was put on Prozac which i wanted to believe was working, and I stayed on it for at least five to six years. I know this is a roundabout journey of what's happened to me but when the 20 milligrams of Prozac didn't seem to be working anymore I asked my medical doc