I am going crazy waiting for appointments and going stir crazy not working.

Posted , 9 users are following.

I have been off work since April due to illness, they excluded everything else leaving me with ME. I was a teacher and to go from that to not been able to work is tough, does anyone else feel useless nor working?

It feels like forever waiting for appointments, for instance have been referred for Cfs service at my local hospital and found out today it's a four month waiting list just for an initial assessment/appointment. Just feels like there is little help out there

2 likes, 18 replies

18 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I've also been off since April and I'm having the same problems, I hope you're getting better support from the teaching profession then I'm getting from mine, the NHS

• Posted

Have you not received much support from your school? It's really hard when it was such an active job and I am fairly young into my teaching career. Difficulty I have is some days I think I could go back and do it and others I can't do anything. Do you think you will go back to it? I could just scream at the nhs sometimes, I have also had stomach problems which I am starting to think is related to Cfs have you had any?

• Posted

You have my sympathy.  I, too, was a teacher when this stuff hit hard.  I dragged myself through my last two years, but then I retired. I just couldn't manage all the work that goes into teaching college-prep classes any longer.  I didn't feel useless about not working, but now that the CFS is worse, I feel useless when I can't do all the things for my grandchildren that  healthy grandmas do.   

• Posted