I am new to osteoporosis.help needed!!!

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hello dear ppl,

I'm 35 female,recently diagnosed with osteoporosis.i have 4 spontaneous fractures.im bedridden now for an year,I ve only recently been put on bonviva.due to my age they didn't want to give it,but in the end they did.i m in huge pain will I ever recover ? Is there such thing as remission ..I start to lose faith.my bone lose is ongoing.any advice or experience shared is appreciated.

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Poor you, but please don't give up hope. I have suffered 2  fractures of my vertebrae and also a toe before I was diagnosed. I was in my 40s when my first fracture occured. But, I am pretty much as normal now although I gave up my bike, just in case.

do you know why you have developed OP at such a young age?Perhaps this can be addressed first to avoid further problems occurring Healing takes time and you will need to persevere doing appropriate exercise to strengthen the muscles. Its a long road, but worth it. A good diet too and possibly supplements, will help. Stay positive

• Posted

I dont know dear,

The hormone tests came good,yeah I wasn't living very healthy as a teenager but I really have no clue,nor do they.

Did you take any biphosfonates?

I haven't had a pain relief for an year now,shall I expect this to stop?

Was it painful only during the fracture healing or?

For me it hurts all the time....

• Posted

I still have pain when I stand for long periods but,  it was excruciating at the start. I also do not know why I have OP. I have taken Risedronate for just over 2 years now and my t-scores are much improved. I hope to stop after 3 years if both hips and spine readings have improved to low bone mass rather than OP. If you exercise, the muscles start to work as they should and this makes everything better. If you dont, the muscles pull too much one way and this leads to muscle tension. This also causes pain.
    • Posted