I am now paying council tax after being on benefit for a long time.

Posted , 10 users are following.

The government have messed me about by taking my housing benefit and ESA because I have savings. I now have to pay council tax and have other bills to pay. My savings don't last forever. I was hoping to get myself a small house instead of a flat being in my forties but I now find it hard to find work. I'm an artist and a poet and I keep myself to myself. The government take away people's future. I wouldn't mind if the bad accommodation I was in was worth paying for.

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

Unfortunately if you claim a means tested benefit like ESA, housing benefit and council tax reduction and you have savings of at least £6,000 then your benefits will be affected £1 for every £250 over. Anything £16,000 or more then your means tested benefits will stop. 

I'm not sure what your question is exactly but unfortunately for savings and means tested benefits these are the rules. 

• Posted

Benefits are meant to be a safety net to cover basic needs of life.

If you have savings to me it's only right you should use them to pay your bills like everyone else,after all you must have over £6000 for this to happen to reduce your benefits and over £16000 to lose them completely.

• Posted

Sorry Rachel but the real world is a harsh place to live in, I have no savings because they were all used up after my accident so I get pension now and so does my other half and because we are literally a few pounds over the threshold for any Hb or council tax benefits we have to pay it all, to cap it all we don't smoke or drink and take drinks with us when we go out and we have to use my so called personal independent payment to help pay essential bills so your better off than we are by far