I am only 20 and just been diagnosed

Posted , 1 user is following.

hello all,

my doctor directed me to this website for which I am thankful. I am in my final year of my degree and have just been diagnosed after being depressed and exhausted for most of this academic year. I have been feeling more and more stupid by the day, gaining weight, not being able to wake up, horrible periods that leave me bedridden for days and now my work has built up to the point where I don't think I'm gong to do very well in my degree. I've been blaming myself for so long, thinking I just needed to pull myself together so I am pleased to have a diagnosis. especially after my doctors before this one dismissed me. I am on 50 mcg of levothyroxine and its been 2 weeks now. I feel slightly more awake but little else has changed. It says on my medication that I can double it after 2 weeks if don't feel better, does everyone think that's a good idea or should I see my doctor first? also my T4 was 7 at my last blood test.. what does that even mean? is that particularly low or only a little bit? any advice anyone has about the condition in general would be appreciated. I hear its rare in someone my age, are there any other 20 somethings here?

thanks, kim

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hello Kim,