I am too sad and it's hurting my husband

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello

I am new here

I just can't seem to be happy. The other day I looked at a picture of my 5 years old self and I just figured out that I have been sad for a long time, I am 31 now. 

The problem is at the moment I should be the happiest, I have nothing to complain about and my husband does not get it when I tell him I feel like a failure and a loser. 

He has a phD and I have a bachelor. I was supposed to be a doctor but I failed. My parents had a miserable marriage and I think my father is severely depressed ( that's where I got it I think) now they are divorced but I can't seem to let go of it. I was supposed to be a doctor, help my parents, take care of them, but I can't now. 

I don't make money, I rely on my husband and I stay home with my infant daughter. My husband does not get it, he says there is nothing in my life that should make me sad but I can't help it. 

I was a promising star but ended up afraid inside a house talking to a toddler for the majority of the day. 

I need to get past this feeling 

I don't k is how, my husband says I suck the life out of him and I look dead. But remember that puffy of me when I was young, I still gave that same look today. 

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi there, it's difficult for a partner to understand unless they have been through it themselves, nobody does, you don't necessarily need a reason to be depressed it can be a pre disposition to it and as your father suffered it would appear it's hit you, a bit like me it runs in my family.

You need to think about yourself and not your husband, have you been to your dr to get medication and some form of therapy to help you out if this depression so you can perhaps change your circumstances? 

Your not a failure as ive no doubt you are a good parent.