I can't decide whether to quit chiropractics...

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all,

At the start of this year, as part of a New Year's resolution, I decided to see a chiropractor to look at discomfort in my upper back and neck region. X-rays were done, and I agreed to continue appointments on a twice weekly basis to have adjustments from a very friendly and convincing chiropractor.

Bearing in mind the amount of controversy surrounding chiropractics and how effective they are, I've been keeping an open mind throughout this process for the past 4 months.

However, it's gotten to almost 30 appointments now on a twice weekly basis and although I would say I can definitely notice an improvement in reduction of pain, I do seem to have this constant discomfort and as my partner describes me, I still sound like a "bag of rocks."

My shoulders have this constant 'rolling sensation' in which you can hear them whenever I move my arms/circulate the joints. Furthermore, my neck continues to have discomfort and feel tension which leads to awful headaches, that seem to only be relieved by pain killers or a chiropractic adjustment.

I'm just dubious that chiropractics is actually doing enough - I can't see myself commiting to a lifetime of twice weekly chiropractics - at a cost of £90 a week, I've spent a lot of money. A lot more than I ever expected on this, and I can't see an end in sight?

I'm more than happy attending a chiropractor on a monthly basis to maintain optimal spine health, but 4 months in and I can't see much improvement in terms of having a strong back, shoulders and neck throughout each day.

Would be interested to hear all opinions. Thanks.

1 like, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

That is exactly the same experience I had with chiropractictioners. A bottomless pit of never-ending charges that didn't actually seem to achieve anything.