I feel I cannot continue work, what do I do next?

Posted , 6 users are following.

I am 58 and have had osteoarthritus for at least 5 years.  It started in small ways in my low back, knees and kneck, but in the last few  years it seems to have got rapidly worse.  I am now at the point where I am constantly in pain, I struggle to walk, stand, go up and down stairs etc and if I have an "attack" I am literally bound to the sofa which is where I have to sleep all of the time as I cannot lay in a bed, and can just about move on and off the commode.  If I have an attack I cannot work at all, but otherwise I can just about get to and from work and get through the working day.  I work as a customer service assistant on the phones so I am deskbound and my colleagues have to help me with photocopying etc.  I have had to have lots of time off work due to sickness and this is getting worse.  I have had a warning due to my sickness.  I have cut my working days down to 4 but work longer hours to try and not lose too much of my wage as I am the only wage earner in my home.  I do not sleep well at all and on top of the pain I am constantly exhausted.  I have all sorts of other medical problems as well such as diabetes.  I feel my life is just existing to go to work to pay the bills and come home to recover until I am at work again.  I have no quality of life as I physically cannot do anything else, I cannot even go shopping because of the pain.  I cannot take anti-inflammatories and can only rely on zapain as pain relief.  My arthritus has spread into my ankles, feet, toes, my fingers and I can feel in going into

1 like, 28 replies

28 Replies

Prev
  • Posted