I Feel that I was Violated by a Doctor

Posted , 9 users are following.

Sorry if this is out of place on the 'Depression' board but I wasn't sure where else to post it.

I work full-time as a model and was recently accepted by a high profile UK modelling agency. A few weeks ago, myself and a few of the other girls at my agency were hired by a company for a big shoot on location abroad. It was a 7 day trip and everything was paid for, including travel insurance, but we had to pass a mandatory physical before being cleared to go. I wasn’t bothered and I certainly wasn’t going to miss out on this opportunity just because of an inconvenience.

So I went to the doctor’s office that the insurance company had picked. Most of the appointment was fine, just the usual health questions, took my blood pressure, checked my ears, nose & throat etc. Then he asked me to take my top off, so he could check my heart and lungs. I was expecting this, so I didn’t hesitate.

But before he started, he told me to take my bra off as well. I was a little surprised since I didn’t think that was necessary. When I asked why, he said he would need to place the stethoscope under my left breast for a hearing at the apex. I felt uncomfortable but what he said sounded okay so I did it. First he put the scope above my heart and listened. I was already feeling a little weird when he then lifted my left breast with his hand and placed the scope below it. He didn’t even ask my permission to touch me! I was really nervous so my heart was racing, and I knew he could hear it, which felt quite embarrassing. Then he checked my lungs from the back and placed his hand on my shoulder while he listened, which felt a little weird as well. I didn’t like the amount of times he tried to make eye-contact either.