I get very brief vertigo spells every few weeks/months. Terrified

Posted , 7 users are following.

First of all. I'm a huge hypochondriac/anxiety sufferer

However here's my history:

5 years ago, I had a nasty case of vertigo-doc said it was BPPV and did the epley. I felt fine. It came back again 2 years ago, did epley and felt fine.

2 years ago, I started feeling a 24/7 sort of feeling of light motion inside my head, like a felt light swaying sensation. It gets worse when I'm stressed.

1 year ago, these very brief 5-10 vertigo/room spinning spells would occur, sometimes when waking up, sometimes when sitting on the bed-neck propped on pillows, some times when standing. When these happen, my heart starts pounding and I get super freaked out, after deep breathing, the dizziness goes away. These spells are very spaced out, and I get one maybe every few months...sometimes longer.

I've had tinnitus in my right ear for years, I play loud loud music for a living and am partially deaf in my right ear, since however long I can remember... I think since 13 years old, my right ear has had a ringing/slight hearing loss.

all I can think about is menieres, I google it everyday. It's freaking me out that I might have this.

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Also 2 years ago, an ENT looked at me for a few minutes and said the general dizziness/vertigo I had, was from labyrnthitis, but I still have it, years later.
    • Posted

Hi

I don't know if this helps ....but I had bad spells also ... I stopped a medication I was taking and it helped a lot ... also when my red blood cell count is low I am very dizzy all the time....good luck, I hope you find answers!

• Posted

Because the positional maneuver worked, then you indeed did have BPPV.  Sometimes the symptoms come back occassionally.  Are your current symptoms the same as back then?

Eleftherios S. Papathanasiou, PhD, FEAN

Clinical Neurophysiologist

Fellow of the European Academy of Neurology

• Posted