I got the results from my doc, 5.2 TSH normal t4 and t3

Posted , 4 users are following.

TSH = 5.22 high

Free T4 = 13.7 normal range

Free T3 = 4.1 normal range

and the results of two weeks ago:

TSH = 4.56 high

Free T4 = 14.9 normal range

As i mentioned before my doc put me on levo 50. i started taking them three days ago and today i had a fast heartbeat, just come and goes..

I dont get it, all my life i felt fine, im 28 years old male. I hate living like not knowing whats wrong with me, my blood tests are fine except this.

Can i be hypo despite these results ?

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hello Peterkh87:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987.

In short YES, you can be Hypo still based on your TSH.  The TSH is a sensor hormone and the thyroid can make more or less of the hormones needed based on a signal it gets.

if you have symptoms of, feeling cold, weight gain, sleepy/fatigue, muscle aches, bruising, low body temp, low heart rate, brittle nails & dry skin, low energy, and brain foggy or concentration problems this can help diagnose you even more.

The TSH can go up or down and since you just started a new dosage it takes about 6 to 12 weeks to build a new level. 

Thyroid disease can start anywhere from age 20 to 45 and it can be from a family trait or DNA thing, or a nasty virus called Esptein-Barr (MONO), or from stress to the gland from another medical condition.

If you are having a fast heart rate a lot then call the doctor, you may need to drop down to 25mcg dose.  It can take the body a bit of time to adjust to the new medication and it should stop after 2 weeks.

Also worth saying is some people can have so called normal blood  work and as the thyroid gets worse in time the T4 and T3 will change too, a special blood test for thyroid antibodies called TPOA and TGab should also be done to rule out Hashimoto's disease, which can make blood work look good and the TSH look bad.