I guess I have a abscess

Posted , 2 users are following.

This scenario fits the clinical picture for a tooth abscess, anyway on Wednesday last week I had a tooth ache with pain and tenderness in the tooth, I was unable to bite on the area. By Friday I had swelling and pain in my face and jaw. I took a few home remedies such as, using clove oil, teabag poltice, taking garlic and other herbs, using Tylenol and ibuprofen for pain. The swelling is gone, but my jaw remains tender and sore, and my tooth is hurting but not like before. There is less swelling on my gum line. I live in the U.S. So my choices are see a doctor for antibiotics then a dentist appointment as we have no emergency dental clinics in my area. I joined the forum for support so any ideas?

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Dasuperrnc,

sorry to hear of your tooth pain and swelling, but you are on the right tract,usually the dentist would look at your tooth, do an xray and decide on the antibiotics you should have and the lengh of time you need to be on it.

Hi Dasuperrnc,

sorry to hear of your tooth pain, but it sounds like you are on the right tract,those remedies are short lived but they do help.

Usually the dentist would see you and then do an xray and then decide on the antibiotics you need to be on if you need them,and how long you would need to take them, make your dental appointment asap, as somtimes the swelling and pain, stop or appear to be getting better then suddenly it starts and becomes worst after a few days.

The antibiotics really do help and is well needed before any dental treatment, I had the same but it was because my filling fell out and then the tooth became infected and also the tooth next to it also became infected and  that had a crown, in the end I had a lot of dental work done AND 4 SETS OF ANTIBIOTICS as I delayed  for  too long I am fine now no more pain thankfully.