I had a partial thyroidectomy 2 months ago. It was non cancerous. I am not on medication. T

Posted , 5 users are following.

two weeks ago my left thumb will not bend. And the fingers are stiff. Is this sudden arthritic feeling connected to the surgery.  I'm 65 years old and feel fine. No side effects.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi, I had a full thyroidectomy because of a tumour about four years ago.

I've never had that kind of symptom, but you can suffer with aches and pains which could be a reason.

I struggled particularly with calcium deficiency because my parathyroid was permanently damaged. When my calcium medication is unstable I get very bad tingling in my hands ( like pins and needles) my hands actually lock so I can't move them. However every time this happens it is both hands and all fingers- not sure if that's the same for you.

• Posted

Hello Charletta:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I also have Hashimoto's thyroid disease.

When you have a part of the thyroid removed, your body has a bit of a shock as a part of the thyroid is not there and hormone levels could have changed.

It would be wise to have a calcium level checked,  as on the corners of the thyroid gland sit the Parathyroid glands (which make calicum in your body),  one on each corner and if 2 are missing your calcium could dip low and muscles will spam or ache.

TSH also should be checked and T4 and T3.  Sometimes the remaining part of the gland will compensate as make enough to support the body.

So ask your doctor to test the calcium level and Thyroid hormones also.

Keep us posted on how you do, any questions just ask.

Shelly

• Posted

Thank you Shelley for your prompt reply. I shall make an appointment with my doctor immediately. I will keep you posted.

Charletta

• Posted