I had ascending aortic anuerysm surgery and still have pain 2 years later

Posted , 10 users are following.

My aaa was discovered during an MRI. The aneurysm was 6.5 and was told that surgery was eminent. So I went through with it, 6 hours, 8 days in hospital, 3 mons off work. The surgery saved my life but I will never be the same. 2 yrs later and I still have pain. I would like to know if anyone has had this surgery and what was there experience and any advice?

2 likes, 28 replies

28 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I had my wires removed Friday .. 1/2 hour operation out patient.. I'm a carpenter and I felt the wires and it was causeing pain in my pectoral muscles and under arms .., pain would shoot around. Most of the pain was right on the wires ... it's Sunday now and I'm swollen and soar but nothing like the big operation .. they removed 4 wires with only 2 incisions. I already feel better when I move my arms. That's anoying pulling and pinching is gone

• Posted

I went 7 months with the wire in... I believe they wait at least 6 months before they remove them if they hurt so I'm happy. I don't know why they are still using wire ... must be because it can be removed easy

• Posted

I had my wires removed Friday .. 1/2 hour operation out patient.. I'm a carpenter and I felt the wires and it was causeing pain in my pectoral muscles and under arms .., pain would shoot around. Most of the pain was right on the wires ... it's Sunday now and I'm swollen and soar but nothing like the big operation .. they removed 4 wires with only 2 incisions. I already feel better when I move my arms. That's anoying pulling and pinching is gone

• Posted

For those of you who had open repair, where your were incisions, how long were they and what are the wires all about? I've heard some incisions are large and middle chest and some people have two incisions one one side. So confused about options.

Mine is ascending at 4.1 or so.

• Posted