I had my bunion op 2 weeks ago

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi I am new to this but needed some advice please .

I had my bunion op 2 weeks ago and although the pain has now settled I am suffering with my foot being sooooo itchy .

I am due to have my stitches removed tomorrow so I'm hoping it will help .

I also wanted to ask if anyone else had no bandage after leaving the hospital as I only had strips of plaster on my foot ?

1 like, 22 replies

22 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

from what ive read on this site people go home with different things all the time. i had a soft cast adn now a boot until 6week mark but there is more than one way to do it.now i am in a boot and a compression sock that is all.if its itching its probably because of the incison healing.it needs to scab over.i wouldnt be worried.itiching is a lot better than burning or pain lol hang in there! what kind of stitches do you have? i had dissolvable and they were SO much easier to have removed than i thought it is fast and not bad if you have a good dr
  • Posted

Well all went well had my stitches out which wasn't to painful .

I was so scared I case the doctor moved my toes, however when I asked him if he was going to move them he said no you are !!

anyways I wiggled them wiggled them and to my surprise it wasn't to painful.

He has asked me to make an appointment at the physiotherapist asap as I need to start moving it more to avoid any future complications .

He also advised me to just use one crutch as I can start putting my weight on it a little more each day I was a little surprised as from what I've read on you shouldn't really weigh bare for at least 4 weeks I am coming up to my third week on Thursday ?

• Posted