I have a bald patch on my head!

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi ladies, Ive been on HRT tablets for 10 months now (elleste duet conti). I noticed a few weeks ago that I thought my hair was getting thinner, I always wear it short and it looks fine. However today my husband put his hand through my hair and noticed a thin patch, I got him to take a picture of it for me. I am horrified at how big this patch is & it really is bald! I am mortified. Has anyone else had this before & if so did it grow back at all or has it got any worse?image

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Rachel, I'm not a doctor but my sister had alopecia where hair is lost in small round patches. She was a young girl when it started but it can happen at any age. Her's was stress related and it has grown back. I would consult your doctor. I don't take HRT so not sure if it's anything to do with the medication.? All the best.

• Posted

I had a friend with a few patches like this dotted about her scalp, the doctor told her it was anxiety, it did eventually grow back

• Posted

Hi Rachel

My hair is very thin and brittle, but I've had thyroid and hormone issues for years. I'm on hrt and haven't noticed it being better or worse since taking them. I also suffer from anxiety but haven't ever had an actual patch like that, so I'm also thinking it may be a type of alopecia. You can get a type which is small round patches, as opposed to it all dropping out. I'd make an apt with your doctor just to check. There can be sooooo many reasons for it, do try not to worry although I can understand its upsetting. I'm sure your doc will come up with something. If it's any consolation the rest of your hair looks fab! Xxx

• Posted

thats what worries me, ive always had a great thick head of hair. I will get it checked out with my gp though just to be safe.

• Posted

Dear rachel83125,