I have a HUGE ovarian cyst and I have to undergo an urgent laparotomy

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello everyone! It’s my first time posting here.

I’m 21 years old and was recently diagnosed with right ovarian cyst (20.5x30x12 cm) (I know, massive!). My doctor said I have to do a laparotomy (a very long vertical incision) as soon as possible as I had one elevated tumor marker (although it’s unlikely to be malignant, and I sure hope so🙏??) and because of the size of the cyst as it is taking all over my abdomen. The problem is that I’m a student nurse in my final year, and only less than a month and half is left till we finish this semester. I’m worried about the recovery period; he told me it would take a month (which would make me unable to finish the semester and therefore repeat the whole semester next year), so did anyone have the same experience? If so, can you tell me about it, and whether is it possible for me to go back to college 2-3 weeks post-op so I can finish the semester? And would it be possible for me to study for my exams like 10 days post-op?

I’d really appreciate your replies 🙏??

Thank you

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

I had this done mine was huge too. Recovery was 6-8 weeks, first couple weeks are  sore. How long are exams? Because sitting could be painful. No heavy lifting too

• Posted

Hi - I had the same surgery. My incision was horizontal across my bikini line from one side to the other. 

I can't believe your timing! I would ask your school if there is anyway to make an exception to take your exams a little later - you never know! They may accommodate the request. Realistically I think it's going to be hard. 

I was operated on Dec 15th and on Xmas day, 10 days later I left the house for the first time just to go to my fathers for dinner with the family and it almost killed me! 

1. You are still on pain meds (at least I was)