I have been battling acid and cough for 6 months now. Will I ever be back to feeling healthy?

Posted , 5 users are following.

After a couple of weekends of parties...(excessive drinking compared to a normal night out with a couple glasses of wine)...I woke up with a hangover and cough.  I thought it was a cold at first so I was taking Nyquil every night for a week.  But that only made things worse.  I ended up going to see the Dr and was given a cough suppressant and antibotic/steroids.  Helped a little but that wasn't the problem.  I then had an endoscopy done and was diagnosted with gastris and eroded esophogus; and was put on 80mg of PPI a day! I lasted about a week and a half because the side effects were so bad.  I had headaches and a constant stressed feeling and one day I ended up in the ER from low blood pressure and what the Dr. thought a "panic attack". 

I then tried to stop taking anything but the rebound was bad so I went on a 40mg a day dose of a different brand and made it though 14 days.  But noticed cracking noises in my joints and ill feelings.  I tapered down to 20mg a day for a week and did some more research on natural alternatives.

I elevated the top of my bed a bit, and started taking 3mg of Melatonin one hour before bedtime for 4 weeks. I also took Manuka honey, and peanut butter on toast for a snack if I felt hungry after dinner but never ate a meal late.  I had a glass of lemon water every morning; first thing. I also had a banana for breakfast and whenever I needed to snack with unsalted almonds, or an apple. This all helped me get to where I am now.  Although I am still struggling to get over the constant acid that tingles my throat between meals and the anxiety of still trying to recover.  

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Wow, you poor guy.