I have been getting these symptoms for over a year now can someone please help me.

Posted , 3 users are following.

So I am currently 15 years old and I'm a freshman in high school. Last year in early October when I would play my instrument in band I would feel like I was going to throw up about every time I would play, the doctors diagnosed me with a Chiari Malformation and later they said it had healed. Still occurring a year later I go to the ENT and they run a camera up my nostril to look at my throats and everything was fine. It now happens when I'm watching a movie, doing physical activity, even just walking to class. I feel like I am about to throw up, but not in a nauseous way, it's like I salivate and clench my teeth until it goes away, or I throw up and it goes away. Playing on stage give me a constant fear which doesn't help on top of whatever this is, if its anxiety I can't tell because I am a confident person and I love performing and stuff so if anyone has experienced anything like this or knows anything please help me out.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

not sure it almsot sounds like acid reflex, also maybe have some pulminary function test done, when your playing an instrument your porbably breathing different/ harder. might have something to do with it.
  • Posted

As you are paying saxophone I am wondering about 3 aspects.

1]   Has the intense blowing caused an imbalance in your inner ear[s]?. This could give you the nauseaus feelings you are describing. ie a bit like seasickness. 

2] Alternatively ...do you have a strap across your shoulders/neck to support the saxophone while playing?  Could this be causing irritation to nerves in your neck?

3] Do you move your neck a lot while playing? Backwards and forwards? This again could be irritating some nerves in the back of the neck,and it can cause a nauseous feeling.