i have itching and very painful shingles

Posted , 6 users are following.

i am confused about my prescription. while my doctor prescribed 800mg aciclovir, a second opinion says 400mg 8hrly. this is my first experience and i am worried. nothing for the sensation and  pain

1 like, 19 replies

19 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Charles,

If you are in excellent health with no kidney or liver disease, and were diagnosed with Herpes Zoster-Shingles, the appropriate dose of Acyclovir is 800 mg orally five times a day for seven days.

Doses of lesser amounts of Acyclovir are for recurrent Herpes Simplex, not shingles....or maintenance doses.

If you have any more questions regarding the dose, ask your physician.

I am sorry that you have this disease and are suffering.

I am a Nurse Practitioner in the US and have Herpes Zoster-Shingles every three to five weeks for the past twenty years.

Please let me know if you have any other questions.

Best regards

Merry Juliana

• Posted

Thanks Merry for your kind and assuring reply. though i do not have a base line LFT and or E/U/C values, i am in no obvious liver or renal involvement. Am glad to inform you i started the 800mg regime. in about a decade of my working in medical laboratory of a tertiary hospital in my country, i have not met this condition. The eruptions are now abating. However i am yet to deal with the concern/fear of my wife (incidfentally a practising Nurse/Midwife) on the retroviral status since her first line of thought is that my condition is seen in immuno compromised. she also remembers losing a colleague as a result of complications opportunistic infections.

Ouch! I scream to hear you have been experiencing shingles! so must be almost a usual therapy? My heart goes out to you.

I also got worried about transmissibility to my kids and spouse. How about the scars.

Furthermore, I dont have a record of haing suffered chicken pox as a child and I am told this shingle also is a recativation in sufferers.