I have recently been told I fibromyalgia

Posted , 3 users are following.

I am new to all this but would like advice please feel like am cracking up. I have been sick for nearly a yr now was recently diagnosed with interstitial-cystitis now they think I may also have fibromyalgia. I am in a lot pain with my knees neck also my elbows an most frequently my hips. The pain can be so intense sometimes I can't get out of bed I very rarely leave the house only for hospital appointments an I have also gained weight which is not like me as I have always been very active xx

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Kirsty

Welcome to this forum. You have come to the right place for support from other sufferers.  The people of this forum are so welcoming and comforting to have and we all share our Fibro experiences on here.

Sorry to hear you are in so much pain.  Firstly you need to be stress free,  I know easier said than done.  Stress and Fibro don't go well together. Staying focus and positive also helps.

i don't really take meds, personal choice, but at the moment trying herbal remedies. It's a slow process.  I have been suffering for over 20 yrs and only diagnosed with Fibro in Aug 2014.

I have had CBT (Cognitive Behaviour Therapy) which I found helpful in the mindfulness of the thought process. It doesn't take the pain away, but helps with the daily thought process and how to be positive.  Taking one day at a time and pacing your day is the way forward.  It's a difficult task to follow if one is used to a busy lifestyle, but I'm learning to pace my day and getting their finally.

Hope others on this forum will give you further advice and support.

Take care and gentle hugs to you. wink xx

• Posted

Thank you for kind words and help I am willing to try anything at the moment as nothing I use helps with the pain xx
  • Posted